4 Comments

Friday Faves–Books I Read and Loved this Spring

I updated my Goodreads account this afternoon, adding a dozen or so titles that I read and loved this spring. If you’re looking for a summer read, here are a few of my recent faves.

Picture Books

Once I Ate a Pie

Written by Patricia MacLachlan and Emily MacLachlan Charest; illustrated by Katy Schneider (HarperCollins, 2006)

“Every dog has a tail to wag and a tale to tell.”

My new favourite picture book. (It was published ten years ago, but it took me a while to discover it.) It has completely captured my heart, and made me feel just a bit more connected with my dog. Gorgeous images, beautiful words.

 

Stepping Stones: A Refugee Family’s Journey

Written by Margriet Ruurs; illustrated by Nizar Badr (Orca Book Publishers, 2016)

“This unique picture book was inspired by the stone artwork of Syrian artist Nizar Ali Badr, discovered by chance by Canadian children’s writer Margriet Ruurs.”

An extraordinary book, the making of which is almost as interesting as the final product. So worth buying, especially since a portion of the cover price goes to refugee settlement organizations. Just beautiful–the stone illustrations will astound you.

 

Middle Grade Novels

The Witch’s Guide to Cooking with Children

Written by Keith McGowan; read by Laural Merlington (Brilliance Audio, 2009)

“A contemporary recasting of Hansel and Gretel.”

I listened to the audiobook while cooking (not with children) and it completely charmed me. So many funny lines, such engaging characters–it’s a great story to cook to.

 

The Girl who Drank the Moon

By Kelly Barnhill (Algonquin Young Readers, 2016)

“Every year, the people of the Protectorate leave a baby as an offering to the witch who lives in the forest.” 

Kelly Barnhill is my new favourite children’s author. All of her books are wonderfully written stories that sing. This one has some sinister characters and high stakes.

 

Adult and Young Adult Novels

The Scorpio Races

By Maggie Stiefvater (Scholastic Press, 2011)

“It happens at the start of every November: the Scorpio Races.”

I love Sean and Puck (and Corr–oh how I love Corr, the water horse), and I feel as if they’re still out there in their world, continuing the lives I got a glimpse of in this wonderful book. It took me a while to get hooked, but then it reeled me right in.

 

The Humans

By Matt Haig (Simon & Schuster, 2013)

“A funny, compulsively readable novel about alien abduction, mathematics, and that most interesting subject of all: ourselves.”

One of those books you’ll have to buy five times because you keep giving copies to your friends and telling them they just have to read it. I loved this book and I want all good things to come to this author.

 

Non-Fiction

Extreme Birds

By Dominic Couzens (Firefly Books, 2008)

“A photographic showcase of 150 birds at the extremes of nature.”

Gorgeous, fascinating, entertaining. This great big book captured the awe-inspiring diversity of nature and reminded me what a wonderful world we get to live in.

 

The Boy who was Raised as a Dog and Other Stories from a Child Psychiatrist’s Notebook

By Bruce D. Perry and Maia Szalavitz (Basic Books, 2007)

“What happens when a young brain is traumatized?”

A compassionately-written account of several stories of traumatized children this psychiatrist has worked with. Not depressing despite some very sad cases. A fascinating look at how genetic tendencies and early experiences interact and how we can improve or worsen the consequences.

 

If you’re looking for your next good read, try one of these or check out more of my faves on Goodreads.

Now I’m onto summer reading! (Feel free to leave a recommendation. My TBR pile is only a few feet high.)

Have a great weekend.

4 comments on “Friday Faves–Books I Read and Loved this Spring

  1. I reread “The Scorpio Races” recently. It’s just as breathtaking the second time around. ^o^

  2. I’ve read some of these – The Girl Who Drank the Moon won the Newbery, I think? I’m not a fantasy/fairytale person normally, but she’s such a great writer! And I must look up the Dog and the Pie one – Patricia MacLachlan has written so many perfect books. And Stepping Stones is gorgeous (in this era of appropriation concerns) – especially because the stone art was done by a Syrian artist. Thanks for the recommendations.

    • Yes, The Girl did win the Newberry. Her first book, Mostly Jack, won something too. (The Witch’s Boy may still be my favorite.) Do look up I Once Ate a Pie–especially if you like dogs. Are you on Goodreads, Jan? If so, I’ll check out your faves.

Leave a Reply

I am Buddy

It's a dogs life

Roxie Munro

Children's books, kid's apps...

The Wilden Marsh Blog

A blog about Wilden Marsh. Nature Reserve and Site of Special Scientific Interest

golnaranart.wordpress.com/

Original Musical Stories by "Golnaran", "The musical cube maker"

Jan L. Coates - "What if...?"

life as a kids' writer

TurtleAndRobot.com

Children's Book Reviews

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

booktrailers4kidsandYA

This site is about encouraging reading throughout the school years. By watching book trailers it is hoped that you will be inspired to read the book.

(Lost in) Believing in Books

A Young Adult & New Adult Book Blog

The Sweet Sixteens

2016 Young Adult and Middle Grade Debut Authors

Young Adult Book Madness

YA & NA Book Reviews

YA Book Reviews

Reviews for Young Adults or just Adults.

2015 YA & MG Debut Authors

Leaping to your bookshelves in 2015!

Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

YA Crush

Pass a note to your favorite YA book

AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

The Whole Megillah

The Writer's Resource for Jewish-themed Story: Fiction, Nonfiction, and Poetry

Cheryl Willis Hudson's Blog

Children's Book Author/Editor/Publisher

PASS IT ON

the networking e-zine for children's writers & illustrators

Julia Lee Author

A blog about reading and writing children's books

Tracey Baptiste

author/editor/teacher

Random Acts of Reading

reviews, raves and a random assortment of book buzz

Children's Literature Crossroads

children's literature meets teaching, reading, talking, writing, and thinking

Books Around The Table

A potluck of ideas from five children's book authors and illustrators

Chapter Book Chat

A Writer Reviews Chapter Books, by Marty Mokler Banks

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

booksellersnz.wordpress.com/

Booksellers New Zealand's blog

Flowering Minds

Children's Book Review Site

Lauri Fortino's Frog On A (B)log

Sharing and Celebrating Picture Books Since 2009

Bobs Books Blog

Childrens and Young Adult Book Reviews by Bob Docherty

Pretty Books

One girl's adventures in books, food and travel

1001 Children's Books

I must read before I grow up (too much)

Writing and Illustrating

Sharing Information About Writing and Illustrating for Children

Lucybird's Book Blog

Book reviews and discussion

