2 Comments

Off to Nova Scotia for Book Week!

novascotiamapI’m heading off to Nova Scotia tomorrow for TD Canadian Children’s Book Week 2014. Hurrah!

I’m one of 29 lucky authors, illustrators and storytellers selected to tour schools and libraries outside their own province this year. I was thrilled to get Nova Scotia as my destination. I am smitten with the Atlantic coast.

(So smitten that I’m taking extra time at the end of Book Week to linger in the province with my better half to check out the Fundy tides from the south side.)

10tricks presentation bookI have a full week of visits lined up with elementary students around the coast. I’m going to tell them everything I know about writing books, which advice I’ve packaged up with my latest middle-grade release to produce this old-school cut-and-past presentation title: 10 Tricks for a Fearless Writing Life.

(I’m not sure I have a fearless writing life – it’s spattered with anxiety and doubt, truth be told – but I’m working toward it.)

Must go. I have a deadline to meet. (Annual report, due today, not quite done, only 4 hours left. Argh.) And it’s not like I procrastinated. I’ve been working on it for ages —  compiling, writing, rewriting, chopping, searching the trash bin for chopped bits that turned out better than the new bits, etc. Sheesh. Writing is hard.

(I’ll gloss over the panicky bits in my school presentation. And I may omit the mornings spent in jammies and unbrushed teeth, drinking pots of coffee and muttering at my computer screen. Seriously. TMI.)

If I have my act together, I’ll blog en route.

So, yeah, that means I probably won’t be blogging till mid-May. Happy spring.

ccbc

 

2 comments on “Off to Nova Scotia for Book Week!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 153 other followers

