6 Comments

Book Buyers Anonymous

Too many books or too few shelves?

Too many books or too few shelves?

There are two kinds of people with overflowing bookcases:

1) those who believe they should stop buying so many books; and

2) those who believe they should buy more bookcases.

I am of the latter sort.

But, as we have such a tiny house that to fit in another bookcase would require removing the couch or taking down a painting, I stepped into the “No more books!” camp briefly this summer. For almost AN ENTIRE SEASON, I did not buy any books. (Well, hardly any. Not so many that I couldn’t squeeze them onto existing shelves without collapse.)

This was not easy, and since I always mistake difficult things for good things, I was feeling very proud of myself for not buying books. (Twisted logic for an author, I know — who in their right mind could be proud of NOT buying books??? — but there I was, twisted and illogical and proud.)

I thought I had cured the book-buying addict in me. (I had about 50 books on hold at the library but that’s a separate addiction.) But then my son’s school had its Scholastic Book Fair and all it took was one sniff of a book sale for me to fall off the wagon. I came home with these:

scholasticbooks

And I immediately ordered these:

ordered books

(I’d given away my copies of Red Market and Yellow Mini, which obviously needed replacing, and Monique Polak had just released her new book, So Much it Hurts, which obviously needed purchasing, and I picked up Little Bee and Not for Sale while I was in the store – what can I say? I’m an addict.)

Then I took advantage of Orca Book Publishers’ Cyber Monday 50% off sale:

orca books

(My son scooped some of these and said, “Orca does really good books. They’re so innovative.” Love that kid.)

Then I visited a friend in Kingston and we always eat breakfast at Smitty’s and then browse the bookstore next door – it’s an unbreakable tradition – and I lingered too long at the bargain table:

chapters books

Then I bought some quilting material at a second-hand shop and when I passed the bookshelves, this happened:

used books

And this, too, two days later:

secondhandbooks_2

(The woman at Saint Vincent de Paul said she sorts through 2,000 pounds of book donations a week. That’s a ton of purged books. Those that make it to the store shelves need foster homes badly. And no, I don’t feel bad about scooping up such awesome books for a few dollars each instead of leaving them for poorer readers. The second hand shops desperately need more room for new purges by recovering book addicts like me. Really, I should have bought more.)

So now I have half a year’s new reading in a pile on my floor. And that just feels right.

I will have to ask Santa for a bookshelf this Christmas.

6 comments on “Book Buyers Anonymous

  1. It’s so hard to buy just one… Seriously, it’s like books were MADE to buy in multiples! Coming home with any fewer than two just feels like a perversion of nature!
    (And so we addicts continue to justify out out-of-control habit…)

  2. A new bookshelf? I would go in for a whole addition on the house, “The Library.” Great finds. You can never argue with great finds. Enjoy!

  3. How fun–enjoy your new books! :)

Leave a Reply

booktrailers4kidsandYA

This site is about encouraging reading throughout the school years. By watching book trailers it is hoped that you will be inspired to read the book.

(Lost in) Believing in Books

A Young Adult & New Adult Book Blog

D. M. Cherubim

10 out of 10 kids love this site if I pay them $5. If I pay them $5 more, kids will buy my book, too. Hide the money, kids. U promised to buy the book.

Between the Pagez- YA Book Blog

Welcome to Betweenthepagez! You can find all the news on YA Fandoms, book reviews and author interviews!

Shelley R. Pickens

Author of THE HAUNTING OF SECRETS

ALLIE B BOOKS

Writing, Reading, All Things YA

Ami with an I

It's all write in here, except when it's not.

The Sweet Sixteens

2016 Young Adult and Middle Grade Debut Authors

Young Adult Book Madness

YA & NA Book Reviews

Armenpog's Blog

Semi-Random Thoughts of a YA Fantasy Author

The Bookshelf

Kate Brauning: YA Author, Editor with Entangled Publishing, Book Enthusiast

Sabrina Giles

Author of YA, Upper YA, and New Adult Fiction & Fantasy

OneFour KidLit

YA and MG authors debuting in 2014

Nancy Pennick

Young Adult author

YA Book Reviews

Reviews for Young Adults or just Adults.

2015 YA & MG Debut Authors

Leaping to your bookshelves in 2015!

The Loony Teen Writer

Blog posts about reading and writing from a borderline-crazy teen

Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

YA Crush

Pass a note to your favorite YA book

AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

The Whole Megillah

The Writer's Resource for Jewish-themed Story: Fiction, Nonfiction, and Poetry

a writers blog by: Tracey M. Cox

Tracey M. Cox author & children's book reviewer

Cheryl Willis Hudson's Blog

Children's Book Author/Editor/Publisher

PASS IT ON

the networking e-zine for children's writers & illustrators

The Indie Children's Authors Connection

Reviews, Interviews, and Information about Independent Children's Authors

Julia Lee Author

A blog about reading and writing children's books

Tracey Baptiste

Children's book author and editor

MorgEn Bailey's Writing Blog

A wealth of writing-related goodies from Morgen With An E (writer, editor, tutor, speaker and oh yes, blogger)

DeeScribewriting Blog

Young Adult authors, books, childrens' writers, authors, interviews and reviews

The Little Rebels Children’s Book Award

Radical fiction award given by the Alliance of Radical Booksellers

Tom Lichtenheld

Children's book author & Illlustrator

Michelle Eastman Books

self-publishing and celebrating children's literature

Random Acts of Reading

reviews, raves and a random assortment of book buzz

Children's Literature Crossroads

children's literature meets teaching, reading, talking, writing, and thinking

Poetry Box

A New Zealand Poetry Page for Children

Books Around The Table

A potluck of ideas from five children's book authors and illustrators

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 163 other followers

